On bidding Farewell to 2017, and Welcoming a New Year, 2018


As I think about the year, 2017, ending, I have a lot to be thankful for. I have found a job in a school that has grown into a load of opportunities to grow and to influence young people and colleagues. It has brought me to the painful loss of wonderful people whose legacy I dream of living up to. It has also brought me 3000 miles of workouts (I am still amazed at this). Finally, it has made me really appreciate the gift of marriage, and the wonderful blessing of Denise to me.

In 2018, I want to be better at keeping my promises, and at attending to my responsibilities as a SPED paraprofessional, as a husband, a leader in the church, and in the community. I want to work on building relationships with people intentionally and make other people higher priorities in my life.

My word for the year, 2018, is “Followthrough.” It is a actually two words coming from the sport of golf meaning that your swing toward the goal, the ball, is merely the target, and not the stopping point. In other words, the energy put into the things that one accomplishes must be more than merely the minimum necessary. Rather, goals accomplished may take some tradeoffs, while, more energy may be required in order to reach a goal well.

I pray that the Lord will allow me the grace to forgive myself when I fall short, however. But I also know that the Lord will complete all things that he has begun for the purpose of His glory on earth.

For the new year, I give thanks for God’s renewal of all things.

Isaiah 58

Leave a comment